Adulting, Empowerment, Life, Love, Motivation, Spirituality

I Love ME!

“Well, if you can’t enjoy your own company, you’re not fit company for anyone else” – Unknown

Can you spend time alone without the suffocating feeling of boredom closing in on you?

One thing I had to learn a long long time ago was how to enjoy my own company. Had to learn??

When I was growing up (way before I was a happily-single-20-something-year-old), I once dared walk up to my mum and told her, “Mummy, I’m bored”. Her response was a simple, “Oh? Bored? Let me give you some chores/homework to do.” >_> Not liking this solution, I learned to never ever let my mother catch me twiddling my thumbs! I would sketch, read, play with my toys, write a story, fix a puzzle, do anything I could to look busy.

Years later, I still make sure I fill my time. Between work, gym, and my tv shows, I read romantic novels (non-smutty), I play games (Halo 4 on Xbox Live, Candy Crush or Words with Friends on Facebook, and Crossword puzzles), I read articles online, and I pin my life away on Pinterest.

I started going to the cinema by myself when my friends would complain that the movies I liked were weird or boring. So, instead of denying myself what I like for the sake of others, I accepted that I like what I like, apologetically. Going to the movies is now a major hobby of mine.

Introspection

When you spend time alone you can really get to appreciate and accept who you are and what you like and don’t like. You can then go out into the cruel world and declare, “This is ME! Like it or lump it!” I can never relate to people who would call or message me to ask what I’m up to and expect me to provide entertainment. You don’t need others to provide your happiness, you control your own happiness.

If you’re doing what makes you happy it becomes easier to ignore what (you think) others are saying or thinking about you. “Love yourself like you’re not waiting for someone else to do it”.

Be BRAVE to do what you want, when you want, how you want. Be STRONG to stick to what you believe in. Be as you are.

Leave a Reply

